Nutty for Cupcakes

Vegan Cupcake

It has been a while since I last baked even though my last day of work was a couple of weeks ago now.  Now that I feel like baking again, I have realised that I pretty much packed all my baking supplies in our moving boxes. See, we are moving again. This time back to Jacksonville, FL and hopefully the last time we will be in a florida. One never knows though. We go where the Navy tells us to but honestly, it has been a blast. I know I would never move to the gulf coast on my own. Despite the horrible year we spent in Milton, FL this journey so far has been amazing and I would not trade it up for anything. The day after my last day of work was Brandons winging. It was a very long and tiring day but I could not have been any more proud of him. When you are going through the process with them learning to fly, you loose sight of the fact that they are one of the few who make it this far. You see them struggle through daily tests as they fly and come home a little more disappointed each day. Sometimes you just don’t have the words of comfort that they need. Now that he has those beautiful gold wings pinned on his uniform, I hope that it’s a constant reminder for him of just how hard he has worked to get where he is and despite him thinking he may not be as smart as other pilots, I hope  he can be more confident in his abilities. As far as I am concerned, I married the perfect man.vegan cupcake 2

 

 

We were driving home from Church this morning and we were talking about dessert and Brandon asked me to make some cupcakes. I was more than happy to do it because it’s not often that Brandon LOVES dessert and I STILL had my muffin pans unpacked. SWEET! Good deal. Everytime I hear the word “cupcake” I immediately think of the story Brandon told me about her younger sister Brittany who when she was younger couldn’t pronounce cupcake so she would say “pupcake.”  Too cute! I really like this cupcake recipe because it’s vegan and it’s so hard to get any alternative ingredients here.

 

 

Vegan Cupcake 3

VEGAN CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

1-1/4 C all-purpose flour
1 C sugar
3/4 ts baking soda
3/4 ts baking powder
1/2 ts salt
1/4 C cocoa powder
1 egg
1/2 C soymilk
1/4 C vegetable oil
1/4 C boiling water
1/2 ts vanilla essence

 

 

  1. Mix dry ingredients together in a mixer with a whisk attachment
  2. Add the egg followed by the soymilk, vege oil, vanilla essence and boiling water.
  3. Whisk until just combined.
  4. Grease muffin tins and fill tins with batter 3/4 full.
  5. Bake at 350 degress F for 15 – 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

CHOCOLATE FROSTING

3 c confectioners sugar
1/4 C soymilk
1/4 C cocoa powder

  1. Mix all ingredients in a mixer and mix till confectioners sugar is dissolved and frosting is lump free.
  2. Frost cupcakes once cooled an sprinkle with chopped pecans! YAY!

WingingKarl and anna

Brandon before he gets his wings                                               Anna pinning wings on Karl                                      

winging group

                  Winging group VT-31 and VT-35

lebenimg_23911

                                                           Baby Leben sunning in the yard                                                                                 

 img_2396

                               Brandon in San Antonio                                                        

img_2401img_2399

 Leopard wood we brought for Brandons coffee table project

 

 

 

About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nutty for Cupcakes

  1. Heather says:

    mmmm. those cupcakes sound delicious. i love chocolate 🙂 and that puppy is super cute!

  2. Christina says:

    Congrats to Brandon!

    Amazing cupcakes. The frosting looks delicious and I like the pecans sprinkled on top.

  3. chee says:

    Ahhh..It’s nice to see you blogging again! It is not easy to get as far as Brandon has. I , for one am very proud of my son-in-law ! Leben looks tooooo cute! and your pupcake looks absolutely scrumptious:))

  4. Cynthia says:

    Heartiest congratulations to Brandon!

  5. Dawn says:

    I just came across your blog and am totally stoked to try these cupcakes!

    Ironically, my husband’s winging in Friday and half of my baking stuff is packed as well!

  6. Dawn Smith says:

    firstly, congratulations to Brandon! yummy those cup cakes sounds gorgeous….and to think all you have to do is step outside for some of the ingredients…i was wondering which site offers the best ingredients….one of my friend introduced me to a great site http://www.myethnicworld.com where i can find a gamut of food ingredients from around the world….thanks for sharing the recipe.

  7. Ann says:

    Congratulations to Brandon!

    I have what may seem like a dumb question, but how is it vegan if it has egg in it?

  8. Linnet says:

    Hi Val! Denise said you had a blog so I searched for you and boy do those cupcakes look good. Just wanted to say hi and you can check Clark and I out at our blog. We’re in VA now so if you’re ever up this way you should let us know!:)

Leave a Reply

