Another Day, Another Craving

 

Meat, chinese food

Beef Potstickers

Chinese Beef Potstickers

1/2 lb ground beef
 6 stalks of chives, thinly diced
2 TBS oyster sauce
2 TBS soy sauce
ground pepper
2 dashes of Sesame oil
Shanghai Potsticker skins 

  1.  Mix all the ingredients together till thoroughly combined. *Except Potsticker skins
  2. Using a teaspoon, grab some meat and with a potsticker skin in the left hand, place meat in the center of the skin
  3. dab edges of skin with water and fold in half then seal, pleat the edges and set on a plate. 
  4. Continue until you’re bored or have finished with all the meat.
  5. Heat oil in a skillet/pan and set the potstickers onto skillet. Pleat side up of course 🙂 Let brown on the bottom
  6. Be careful of next step. Oil will splatter EVERYWHERE
  7. Pour a little water into the skillet (enough to cover the bottom of the potstickers) and cover with a lid for 3-5 minutes until skin is a little transparent
  8. Then uncover lid and let water evaporate.
  9. IT’S DONE! 

 

Everyday is definitely a new adventure as far as food goes. I could literally get groceries for an entire week of meals that I have planned but I won’t feel like any of them. So I’ve had to use my brain a little more especially since I don’t eat meat and Brandon lives on meat alone. So on Saturday, we went for a 3 mile run at 9am. It was 80 degrees out. At 9am. I wanted to sit back on my big fat pregnant butt. The look of excitement on Brandon’s eyes and Lebens eyes for the run was more than enough to get me motivated – a little. Enough to start off strong. All week I had been on the elliptical at the gym for fear that running would hurt my baby but it seems that I bounce so much more on an elliptical than when I run. So running might be better for me. Anyways, side-note! After I got home from our run I decided to prune some bamboos to make as indoor plants. Bad idea. I should have rested for a little because I got dehydrated and I had a HUGE headache. Brandon even made me breakfast and I couldn’t eat it cause I felt like throwing up. After that, the day was a blur. I did get better so our friend Pat came over and we went to Home Depot and then when we got back I ate and basically slept for 3 hours straight. I love our bedroom. That may be my most favorite place in the house because we have huge plantation windows and when I am lying in bed, I see all these bamboo trees surrounding me. I feel like I live in a plantation home. That’s the only time that I really like our house. The bathroom is terrible. The ventilation fan works like at a rate of 1 cycle per 30 minutes so the shower is always wet and mold grows. Then our kitchen sink is leaking underneath into the cabinet and molding it as well. Our house smells like vinegar (which I used to kill the mold) mixed with mold. I can’t wait to get out of here.  Oh back to my main point. So I woke up at like 5:30pm, roamed around the house in a daze and talked to my mom on the phone for a good 20 minutes or so. Then I decided to attack dinner. Not that I wanted to cook. I never feel like it anymore, but we gotta eat right? So I threw together some ingredients for beef potstickers and vegetable yakisoba stirfry. Incredibly, at an attempt to give our grape sized baby some iron, I tried some potstickers. I had not had meat in like 3 years. It tasted good but oily and it definitely didn’t make me feel good. So, I better take this up with my nutritionist when I go in for my appointment. No way can I get red meat.

 

 

Vegetarian, Japanese

Vegetarian, Japanese

Vegetarian Yakisoba Stir-fry

1 Pack of Yakisoba (comes with 3 individually portioned servings)
2 medium sized carrots, sliced
a handful of chives, cut into 3 lengthwise
1/4 of a white onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, diced
3-4 celery stalks, cut diagonally
Soy sauce
Pepper

  1.  Heat oil in a large pan/wok till oil is very hot
  2. Add garlic and onions and cook till fragrant
  3. Add carrots and stir-fry for 2 minutes
  4. Add Chives, then celery and cook for another minute
  5. Add the noodles and add a little water to the pan to loosen the noodles
  6. Add soy sauce and pepper to your liking. I usually add chili sauce in mine. It makes it THAT much better! 
About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in Asian, Meat, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Day, Another Craving

  1. Char says:

    Oh yum! I love potstickers. One of my friends showed me how to make potsticker pastry – very simple, just plain flour and water. It’s a bit more work though! Very tempted to walk to the high street to pick up some chives…

  2. Linnet says:

    Where (what store) do you usually find the potsticker skins? Both of these recipes look great! I can’t wait to try them. Clark also lives on meat and lately I’ve been trying to make a few vegetarian meals. The stir fry looks like it will be a good alternative to meat:)

Leave a Reply

