Flour Power

chicken pot pie and mein fun go 001

Wow, today I am extremely tired! I have to try not to sleep till after noon because it feels like I just got up. Being in bed twice in a morning just doesn’t seem right. lol. I was at a loss as to what I wanted for Dinner last night. I didn’t feel like cooking, I haven’t felt like it in some weeks now but then MAIL MAN! He arrived with a package from my MOM! Of course I wasn’t surprised because I had asked her to send it to me but it totally inspired me to make dinner. I have been wanting this dish called “Mein Fun Go.” Basically a stock made from diced shallots and small dried fish. Sounds gross? Yeah, probably but I grew up with it and it makes the BEST broth and really my tummy appreciates something clear and healthy.

For the Dough

1 C flour (AP)
1 egg
Dash of salt
1/2 C water

chicken pot pie and mein fun go 007

For the Stock

1/2 C of the dried white fish
1-2 diced shallots
water

  1. First mix the ingredients for the dough in a mixer with the dough attachment. Add more flour or water as needed to prevent it from being too sticky or too dry. Roll up in a ball and place it in a clean bowl and put a damp paper towel over it and let rest for an hour
  2. Meanwhile, in a soup pot add some oil and let it heat up and stir in the dried fish and shallots and let cook till lightly browned and fragrant.
  3. Add enough water. I added around 4-5 C which will make enough for 2 meals. Cover and let come to a boil then let it simmer for the remainder of the time.
  4. After an hour, fill a bowl with water and add some salt to it.
  5. Grab the dough and pull off little pieces and roll into balls and put it in the salt water. Continue doing this until you’ve finished the dough. Let it sit for 15-30 minutes.
  6. Then turn the soup back onto high and while it boils, grab a ball and flatten it out with your finger tips and drop it into the soup. Continue until all dough balls are flattened and in the soup.
  7. Add some type of veges to the stock at the end. I used spinach. YUM! Oh, you might want to eat it with soy sauce and chilis! DELICIOUS!

* Warning: Brandon deems this “smelly”

chicken pot pie and mein fun go 002chicken pot pie and mein fun go 004chicken pot pie and mein fun go 005

I also had to make something for the husband for dinner of course. I wasn’t going to force him to eat my weirdo pregnancy cravings. So Chicken pot pie it was. It was actually pretty simple to put together.

Pie Pastry Dough

1 1/4 C AP flour
1/4 ts salt
1 stick of cold cubed butter
3 TBS iced cold water

chicken pot pie and mein fun go 006

Chicken Pot Pie Filling

1 chicken breast
water
3 stalks of celery (diced)
1/2 onion (diced)
2 stalks of green onion (diced)
2 medium carrots (peeled and diced)
1ts dried thyme
dash of garlic powder
Salt & pepper to taste
milk
1 TBS flour

chicken pot pie and mein fun go 003

  1. Boil the chicken breast in a pot with water until cooked. Let cool and cut chicken into dices
  2. Meanwhile, make the pastry dough but mixing flour, salt and butter in mixer with the paddle attachment. Add water, 1 TBS at a time to control the wetness of the dough. You don’t want it sticky or dry. Mix until just combined.
  3. Wrap and refrigerate.
  4. In a pan, heat oil and add thyme and onions and cook till onions translucent.
  5. Add carrots and cook for 2 minutes before adding celery and cook for another 2 minutes. Add green onions.
  6. Add garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste
  7. Add to the pan sifted flour and stir around and quickly add enough milk to make a thick soupy consistency. It’s better to add a little milk at a time so you can control the liquidity of it.
  8. Let cool while you prepare the pastry.
  9. Roll out the pastry dough on a well floured surface and cut out 3 circles enough to cover the base of the 3″ pie tin. Gather the scraps, rewrap and refrigerate.
  10. Prick holes into the base of the pie with a fork and fill with the filling. Set on a tinfolded tray.
  11. Reroll pastry dough on floured surface and top each pie with the dough.
  12. Cut slits into the top of the pie dough then cook at 400 degrees F until golden brown.

I started a baby journel. 🙂

About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in Asian, Meat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flour Power

  1. Rosa says:

    Both the pie and soup look delicious! Comforting food…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Mmmm pie – can’t go wrong really can you?

  3. Emily says:

    CONGRATS! I had to go back and read your old post. That’s amazing! I am so happy for you.

    Both dishes look delicious. I’m a little partial to the chicken pot pie though. One of my favorite foods!

Leave a Reply

