HOT DOG!

You know, sometimes life just sucks the spirit out of you. It leaves you nothing to be happy about, nothing to look forward and quite frankly I was so sick and tired of that. I mean, I was in a total rut and I have been for a little while.  When I became a Christian and I changed alot of the way I think about things, about the world, my attitude, my language and my actions (for the better) it was refreshing! It was also during a time when I was surrounded by college friends who had such a firm and steady faith that it was easy for me to learn and be in Gods word. Ever since I moved with the Navy for Brandon, you go to alot of different places, meet alot of people in different stages of their lives with VERY different ways of living. It was definitely hard for me personally because I was shocked and the way people could make you feel by their words that never affected me before I became a Christian and the way that people treated each other and acted as if each day of their life sucked. I experienced this greatly at work in Pensacola and from then on I’ve really let it affect me. It changed my outlook on life and it drained me so much so that the past 2 years, my walk with God has been backwards instead of forward. I just didn’t try to be in his word as much as I should and my relationship with him was so distant. With all this free time during my pregnancy, I finally asked God and MEANT it for Him to change my life. It also helps alot that we have an amazing bible study group with couples our age. I started reading this book by Tim LaHaye How to Study the Bible for Yourself. I have only read 30 pages and it has already lifted me up SO much! This is a book that I really need because it helps you dig into the bible deeper by yourself without relying on just your sunday pastor and your bible study. So needless to say, I am in SUCH a good mood today. OH! I’m going to try and do something nice and selfless for Brandon daily. Hopefully it will not only make me a better wife, it will make me a better person in general.

baked corndogs and potato salad 001

A couple of weeks ago I brought the Food Network magazine and it has some amazing recipes in it. Brandon loves Nathans hotdogs so I thought it would be a good idea to make the baked corndogs since I hate using the Grill and Brandon didn’t get home till after dark so I didn’t want him being outside in the dark with all the bugs.  Both these recipes are really simple, though at first glance it seems time consuming it really is not at all.

baked corndogs and potato salad 002

Classic Potato Salad Aaron McCargo, Jr.

3-yukon gold potatoes (peeled and cut 1 in cubes)
3-large eggs
1/2 C diced onions (I used red onion)
1/2 C diced celery
2-TBS sweet relish
1-TBS Worcestershire sauce (I didn’t use it cause I didn’t have it)
1-ts hot sauce (I used paprika)
kosher salt and peppper to taste
1-C mayonnaise (I used only 1/4 C)
2- Scallions ( I used 3 cause I LOVE them)

1) Bring large pot of water to a boil and cook potatoes till tender (15 nins) and drain and spread out on a sheet pan to cool. Bring another pot of water to boil and add eggs and cook for 12 minutes and remove to a bowl of ice water to cool completely. Peel eggs under cold running water, then roughly chop.
2) In a large bowl, combine the onion, celery, relish, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, salt, pepper and the mayonnaise. Fold in the potatoes, eggs and scallions. Adjust the seasoning to taste.

baked corndogs and potato salad 003 Baked Mini Corndogs Food Network

1-C reduced-fat milk
1-package active dry yeast (2 1/4 ts yeast)
2-TBS extra virgin olive oil plus more for greasing
2-TBS packed light brown sugar
1 3/4-C a.p flour
1-C fine ground yellow cornmeal
1-ts salt
1/4-ts bs
1/4-ts paprika
9-hotdogs, halved crosswise (I didn’t make mini ones, I just made normal sized corndogs)
1-Large egg, beaten
1- TBS black sesame seeds (optional)

1) Warm milk to 110 degrees F and pour into a medium bowl. Sprinkle in yeast and let soften for about 2 minutes. Stir in olive oil, brown sugar, and cornmeal with a wooden spoon. Add flour, salt, baking soda and paprika. Stir to make a sticky dough.
2)Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead, ading more four if needed, until smooth but still slightly tacky, about 5 minutes. Shape the dough into a ball, place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm spot until doubled in size, 45 minutes to 1 hour. Meanwhile, insert a wooden tick or small skewer into each hot dog half, about 1 inch deep, set aside. (I didn’t use skewers).
3) Prehat oven to 45o degrees F and lightly grease large baking sheet. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface; divide into 18 pieces. With your palms, roll each piece into a 10-in length. Wrap ach piece around a hot dog half, tucking and pressing the edges to seal; place on the baking sheet.
4) Brush the dough-wrapped dogs with the beaten egg; sprinkle wieht sesame seeds, if desired. Bake until golden; 15 minutes.

About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to HOT DOG!

  1. Rosa says:

    What a scrumptious meal! That salad looks really tasty and those corn dogs are irresistible…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. ooh – that potato salad’s looking divine!

  3. Tovah says:

    Glad to hear that you have found a good bible study and study guide. It is so hard to move all the time, I know I have trouble with making myself put down roots. I always think about how we’ll be moving soon which I think can really hinder feeling at home and making friends.
    The food looks good, mmm, hot dogs. I think I might have to make those, it has been forever since I had a hot dog.

  4. Tovah says:

    The corn dogs were ah-mazing!:) I made eight of them and between dinner last night and lunches for us today they are all gone! (I wish there were more:)

    Did you get my other comment? I don’t see it here, maybe it went to your spam folder.

  5. alexandra says:

    mmmmm …. corn dogs. Yum!

  6. Emily says:

    Yum! I’m hungry for corndogs now.

    Everything looks wonderful.

  7. Cynthia says:

    I’m uplifted by your post. Bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

