International Baby

Time is flying by! I can hardly believe that I am in my 6th month of pregnancy already and I can’t believe how much fat I have accumulated this past month. Running to getting harder and harder. Now that my belly is really big enough to throw my center of gravity off, I’ve noticed how much harder my calves and my feet have to work for each stride! My calves ache and my flat feet feel so tight by the first couple of blocks that sometimes I feel embarrassed at the pace I run. lol. Leben is so good with me when I run. He loves to go fast but he runs alongside me pretty well at my pace. There’s definitely no way I would run by myself in Jacksonville without him. I tried once and that was NOT a good idea. Thank goodness they were hauling their mowers and I don’t think they could have caught up with me hauling the mower though I had to really bite my lip not to say anything in response. People make me mad sometimes and I know I could never physically win so I try not to say anything at all and just let them think they are all that and a bag of crushed chips. :-b

23 week baby bump!

23 week baby bump!

Back to time flying by so fast lately, Brandon has 2 events left! WHOOHOOO! Which means we are THIS much closer to moving to Whidbey. We are planning on taking a trip to Whidbey to go house-hunting between Oct 1-15 and hopefully we will find a house that we really like. I’m really stressed about this move. I am not sure what we are going to do with Leben when we go house-hunting. I truly don’t trust vet boarding anymore, plus he never eats when we board him but I don’t want to have our friends watch him for 15 days. That’s a lot to ask of anyone and he’s not neutered so he likes to mark when we aren’t watching even though he knows he gets in trouble.  Then we have to decide whether we want to spend $500 to fly him out to Whidbey for the actual move or take him in the Penske truck with us, which would not be the best idea because he takes up the whole half of the bench seat and I would be uncomfortable to begin with with this belly of mine. It’s a 5 day 13 hour a day drive to get there on time so it’s definitely not a relax, site seeing type of roadtrip. Of course flying him would be easiest but he has anxiety problems and I would be constantly worried about him and how his heart is doing when he’s in the  plane without us. I just don’t want him stressed out either. I’m also concerned about hospitals along the way on our roadtrip if sometimes should arise. I pray that it won’t but you know me, I’m a stress-aholic. I’ve been waking up the past 3 nights and not able to fall back asleep because I keep worrying about these things. I know it’s crazy to worry about it but I’m a tense perso.

Marmalade and Strawberry Scones

Marmalade and Strawberry Scones

Scones

Scones

Well back to food! Benton really is on the frequent flyer miles already! He’s got a taste for the internationl. He craves every type of food except Mexican. Though mommy doesn’t like Mexican either. 2 weekends ago we had our weekly girls prayer group on Saturday and I thought I would bake some scones. Well…Benton told me through my stomach to bake some scones lol.  I got this recipe from Joy of Baking which is one of my favorite baking sites. Her recipes NEVER fail and they always turn out so tasty!

2 C A.P Flour
1/4 C white sugar
1 ts baking powder
1/4 ts baking soda
1/4 ts salt
1/2 C unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces
2/3 C buttermilk
1 ts pure vanilla extract

Jam/Preserves for topping

Egg mixture for top of scones:
1 large egg, light beaten
1 tbs milk/cream

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. In mixer, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt then add in butter cubes until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add buttermilk and vanilla extract and mix until dough just comes together.
3. Transfer to lightly floured counter and knead 4-5 times and pat dough into a circle 7 in round and 1 1/2 in thick. Cut into 8 pieces and transfer to baking sheet, brush the tops of the scones and make a dip on the base of each scone with a spoon and fill with jam.
4. Bake for 18-20 minutes and let cool!

Serving: 8 scones

About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in baked goods. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to International Baby

  1. Christina says:

    You look really great, Val! Sorry to hear about the moving stress, and I hope it all works out. I love Joy of Baking, too!

Leave a Reply

