EMMSCOTTI

 

Cranberry Coconut Biscotti

Who knew a baby would take so much energy that your once source of stress relief would become more like a chore? I have really struggled since having Benton, that I have not had the energy or time to bake and blog. Now that Benton has pretty much a more predictable schedule, I am going to start baking again. My goal is to revert back to my original idea that started this blog in the first place. A blog for healthier baking. What better to start this off than emm…biscottis! They require no added fat and it is such a versatile recipe you can literally add any fruits, nuts, or chocolate in it. I adore cranberries and coconut so I thought I would throw those in there. The coconut gave it a subtle nutty flavor to my surprise and the cranberries a sweet-tart tingle in the back of my mouth. YUM!

CRANBERRY COCONUT BISCOTTI

1/2 C granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 ts vanilla extract
1 ts baking powder
1/4 ts salt
1 3/4 C A.P flour
3/4 C cranberries
3/4 C sweetened coconut flakes

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. In mixer with paddle attachment beat together eggs and sugar until yellow-white in color and fluffy.
  3. Add vanilla extract and mix to combine
  4. Combine in a separate bowl the flour, baking powder, cranberries and coconut and salt.
  5. Add flour mixture to egg mixture and mix until combined.
  6. Transfer onto parchment and shape into 2 logs (I like my biscottis thicker rather than thinner) 8 in long by 4 in wide roughly or longer and wider if you like yours thinner and harder.
  7. Bake in oven at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes (thicker) and 25 minutes (thinner).
  8. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees F.
  9. After 10 minutes, slice the biscottis to desired thickness and place on cut side and bake 10 minutes, flip over biscottis and bake an additional 10 minutes.
  10. Let cool

    Emmm...delicious with coffee or english breakfast tea!

About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in baked goods. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EMMSCOTTI

  1. Tovah says:

    Yay, you’re back! I figured your little cutie had taken over your life, that is the way it goes but I’m glad you were able to find some time to bake and blog again. Hope all is well!

  2. Cynthia says:

    Congrats on the little angel!

Leave a Reply

