Monster Coffee Cake

Okay so I’ve been out of the blogging world for quite some time and honestly, I’m sure you’re not surprised. Ever since I got pregnant, I have not been into blogging. I literally haven’t been into much! Cooking and baking has been an incredible chore for me, as is going to the grocery store which blows my mind since those are the top 3 things that I craved for before. So…what have I been into? Being lazy! Seriously. I get up in the morning and by lunch time I’m SO ready for a nap. I’ll catch you up on why I’ve been blogless this last month and a half.

Since my last entry, our move orders had been shifted back and it was a whole huge mess because we had already told our landlord we were moving out the end of October and since our orders were delayed, we had to move elsewhere for a month until we were able to move. So, here I am 32 weeks pregnant and we have to not move once (to our final destination Whidbey Island, WA) but TWICE! Our prayers were definitely answered though, because our neighbor had just finished remodeling their duplex and so we were lucky enough to move just across the driveway. None the less, it was still a pain! The worse was that we didn’t know if we would get orders anytime soon and we were suppose to close on our house in Whidbey by November 22nd. That definitely didn’t work so we had to extend our closing date 2 other times. It was stressful trying to juggle between all those things and planning on when to pack and load our things into the penske. So, while we were in the duplex we didn’t set up internet since it would be a hassle to just have it for a month.

I have to say, I’m rather proud of myself though. We drove from Jacksonville, FL all the way to Oregon in 4 days with Brandon driving the Penske hauling our mazda and me driving the Honda. We usually put in 16 hour driving days. Ohhhhh was my butt sore! I’m surprised it’s not as flat as a pancake right now.  We didn’t take the diagonal route like normal people since we had the penske and this time of year, we didn’t want to risk any weather problems on the way. So we drove through the south and up through the entire state of Cali and Oregon. I was ready to get outta the car and I still can’t believe we’re here in Wa now. I don’t know how we pulled that off.  Seriously.

So this brings me to the amazing part of this post! I wanted to bake SO badly once we unpacked the kitchen stuff. We had collected a bunch of fresh pecans from our house in Jacksonville so I wanted to put that in something as well as use up all those bananas we didn’t get to eat on our drive up here.  So Viola! My monster of a banana pecan struesel coffee cake! I have NO idea how it got this huge but I had to remove the top rack from the oven because the coffee cake was going to eat it up! hahaha.

Without further ado…the recipe for

BANANA PECAN STREUSEL COFFEE CAKE

CAKE

Eggs – 4
Sugar – 1 1/3 C
Olive Oil – 3/4 C
A.P Flour – 3 C
Baking soda – 2 ts
Baking powder – 1 ts
Ground cinnamon – 2 ts
Ground nutmeg – 1 ts
salt – 1 ts
ripe bananas (mashed) – 4

STREUSEL

A.P Flour – 2/3 C
Sugar – 1/3 C
Ground cinnamon – 1 ts
Unsalted butter – 6 TBS

PROCEDURE

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray a cheesecake pan.

In a mixer with whip attachment, beat eggs and sugar on high for a minute before slowly adding in Olive oil and beating until thick and pale yellow.

In seperate bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg and salt. Add to egg and sugar mixture and fold together until combined. Lastly add in the mashed bananas and incorporate.

Mix together Streusel ingredients with fingers until crumbly and cover the top of the coffee cake with the streusel.

Bake for 1 1/2 hours or until skewer comes out clean.

And finally, after a long time of not keeping up with pictures, here I am at 35 weeks! It’s HUGGGGEEEE!!!!!!

 

About bakeyourcakeandeatittoo

I love to bake and I love to eat! Baking is my passion and what I do for a living and it is such a great way for me to show the people I lov
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Monster Coffee Cake

  1. Cynthia says:

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment